Home > ST > ST – What’s that about?

ST – What’s that about?

(originally written March 7, 2005)

In case you are wondering, "ST" is derived from a very old (and no longer used) nickname.

A good 30 and some years ago, I started performing and found my place as an ensemble player. Shunning the limelight, I would sing through my instrument in harmony to complement the lead voices. In those days I played acoustic guitar. Although I still do, these days you find me wearing an electric when playing live.

Musically, I am most happy working in a responsive-creative role. I tend not to generate new from an empty space, but find my place in response to others, working with what’s happening in the moment. This translates into an odd (and I hope, atypical) interpretation of the lead guitar player.

More simply, I found my place in the shadows with the priority on the tunes.

ST is the short form of that old nick-name I no longer use… Shadow Toonz

So call me ST. All my musical friends online do.

If you got here by following a link from the Bose site, check out  the

and my

Update: January 2007

These days I’m just as likely to be playing Acoustic Guitar as Electric, and I’m doing a lot more singing. There has been a lot less time for blog posts because I have directed a lot of that energy into building The Bose® L1™ Wiki

Update: January 2008
Just this month started playing solo gigs in addition working in several duos. It is certainly interesting to be in the limelight alone. Perhaps I’ll have to reconsider the meaning of "ST"

Update: January 2009
Expanding the solo shows,  and maintaining the duo gigs with occasional pick up work.

 

 

Disclaimer:

I have no formal affiliation with Bose Corporation.
My opinions are my own.

As a courtesy to the owners of various trademarks, I try not to use the term Bose PAS when referring to the Bose® Personalized Amplification System™ Family of Products. Bose now encourages the use of the term L1™ .

Categories: ST
  1. brette taylor
    November 18, 2020 at 9:02 am

    Hi – I saw your post with a picture of an Odyssey guitar that i think you own – I’m just wondering if you’re interested in selling it.. If so, i’d be very interested. thx –

    • ST
      March 12, 2021 at 5:38 pm

      Hi Brette,
      Thanks for your interest. I’ve got a couple of Odyssey guitars. They’re keepers for sure.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment